logo
fr en

FOURNIER, Vincent

PORTRAIT_FOURNIERBorn in 1970 in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

Lives and works in Paris.


Vincent Fournier grew up in France on the coast of Brittany. After undergraduate studies in Sociology and a Masters in Visual Arts, he obtained the Diploma of the École Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie in 1997. His work is represented by a number of different galleries and is regularly shown at international art fairs. He has two books published this year: Brasilia, Éditions Be-Pôles and Past Forward.

His works are regularly exhibited in international galleries, museums and festivals, such as the Z33 Contemporary Art Center in Genk (Belgium), Rencontres d’Arles with his series Past Forward at the Grande Halle and Fondation EDF in 2012, the Netherlands Architecture Institute in Rotterdam and the Centre Photographique de Genève in 2013.

Vincent Fournier’s works are not only revealing his passion for science, technology and their mysteries but also witnessing utopia worlds as fantasized by humankind. Whether he uses research made to reinvent living kind or studies made to project potential futures, Vincent Fournier always leaves a wide place to imagination. His pictures are poetic and very meticulous, which is the result of a long preparation in advance and a curious taste for opposites patiently fed with films and literature.


Source: www.vincentfournier.co.uk

logo
fr en

FOURNIER, Vincent

PORTRAIT_FOURNIERNé en 1970 à Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso.

Vit et travaille à Paris.


Vincent Fournier a grandi en France sur la côte bretonne. Après une licence en sociologie et une maîtrise en arts visuels, il obtient le diplôme de l’École nationale supérieure de la photographie en 1997. Son travail est représenté par plusieurs galeries et régulièrement montré dans les foires internationales d’art. En 2012 il a publié les livres Brasilia aux Éditions Be-Pôles et Past Forward.

Son travail est régulièrement exposé un peu partout dans le monde, notamment au Centre d’Art Contemporain Z33 à Hasselt (Belgique) en 2011, aux Rencontres d’Arles avec sa série Past Forward à la Grande Halle et la Fondation EDF à Paris en 2012, au Science Museum de Moscou et le Centre de la Photographie de Genève en 2013. Cette année son travail est présenté au NAI (Institut d’Architecture des Pays-Bas), à l’Espace Quai1 de Vevey, au Centre d’Art Contemporain de Pontmain, et la Galerie Diesel à Tokyo. 

Fasciné par la science, les technologies et leurs mystères, ses clichés sont autant de témoins des mondes utopiques inventés pas l’homme. Qu’il exploite les recherches sur la réinvention du vivant ou sur les projections d’un éventuel futur, Vincent Fournier laisse dans ses productions une grande place à l’imagination. Résultat d’une très grande préparation et d’une certaine attirance pour les contraires, ses photographies sont poétiques et méticuleuses, calmement nourries d’inspirations cinématographiques et littéraires.


Source: www.vincentfournier.co.uk