logo
fr en

NOZOLINO, Paulo

Born in Lisbon, Portugal, in 1955. 

Lives and works between Lisbon and Paris.

Paulo Nozolino is one of the central figures of contemporary photography. His journey begins in the 1970s in London where he went to live. Then Paris, from the late 1980s and throughout the 1990s, was his basis for a long series of travels across the Arab world, as well as Europe, after the fall of the Berlin Wall. Books likePenumbra and Solo are good examples of his political concerns with a changing society. He returned to Portugal in 2002, after an anthological exhibition – Nada – at the Maison Européenne de la Photographie in Paris. In 2005, Museu de Serralves, in Porto, invited him to a new anthological – Far Cry – first time ever to show work by a Portuguese photographer.

A frontal artist, Nozolino sees photography the same way he sees life, using it to understand both the world and himself and taking it to the limits of his quest, his answers and his experiences. There is no room for complacency in his work. Destruction means destruction, death means death. Constant cycles in his historical time par excellence, the twentieth century, and even more alive in the present moment, as is stated in his most recent works, Bone Lonely, Makulatur, Usura and Gloom.

Public recognition accompanies the artist’s work from the beginning. Awards such as the Villa Médicis (1994), in France, or the Grande Prémio Nacional de Fotografia (2006) and the Prémio Sociedade Portuguesa de Autores (2013), in Portugal, are reflections of such notoriety.

Paulo Nozolino presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2013: Lavender in black and white at the Palais de Luppé; and in 2009: Bone lonely and Far cry at the Atelier des Forges.

logo
fr en

NOZOLINO, Paulo

Né à Lisbonne, Portugal, en 1955. 

Vit et travaille entre Lisbonne et Paris.


Paulo Nozolino est une des figures majeures de la photographie contemporaine. Son parcours débute à Londres, où il emménage dans les années 1970. À la fin des années 1980 puis durant les années 1990, il s’installe à Paris et effectue de nombreux séjours dans le monde arabe et en Europe, après la chute du mur de Berlin. Les ouvrages Penumbra et Solo sont de bons exemples de ses préoccupations politiques, tournées vers l’évolution de la société. Après une rétrospective intitulée Nada à la Maison européenne de la photographie, il rentre au Portugal en 2002. En 2005, il est invité pour une nouvelle rétrospective – Far Cry – au Museu de Serralves de Porto, qui accueille pour la première fois le travail d’un photographe portugais.

Artiste au discours engagé, Nozolino porte sur la photographie le même regard que sur la vie : il en fait un outil pour mieux se connaître et comprendre le monde qui l’entoure, et chercher les limites de ses interrogations et de ses expériences. Son travail ne laisse aucune place à la complaisance. La destruction comme la mort y sont représentées pour ce qu’elles sont, à savoir des cycles constants de son époque historique, le XXe siècle. De quoi rendre l’instant présent encore plus vivant, comme le montrent ses travaux les plus récents, Bone LonelyMakulatur,Usura et Gloom.

La reconnaissance publique accompagne son oeuvre depuis ses débuts. Le prix de la Villa Médicis (1994), en France, ou le Grande Prémio Nacional de Fotografia (2006) et le Prémio Sociedade Portuguesa de Autores (2013), au Portugal, sont autant de récompenses qui reflètent sa notoriété.

Paulo Nozolino a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2013: La lavande en noir et blanc au Palais de Luppé; et en 2009: Bone lonely et Far cry à l’Atelier des Forges.