logo
fr en

SERRALONGUE, Bruno

P_SERRALONGUE

Born 1968 in Châtellerault.

Lives and works in Paris.


Since the nineties, and following studies at ENSP and at Villa Arson in Nice, Serralongue has put together a photographic oeuvre that tears down traditional image-production procedures in today’s media. Whether he confronts, in the way it was broadcast, the reality of an event (South Sudan, 2011), whether he returns to once media-saturated locales which are no longer in the public eye (Calais, 2006-2008), or whether he follows a current event by offering a form of coverage wholly different from the mainstream media (New Fabris, 2009), Serralongue rediscovers the process of a form of conceptual photography that reveals the complexities of reality rather than exhausting its forms.

His images are regularly exhibited in France as well as abroad. His work has been shown in a series of retrospective exhibitions at Wiels (Brussels) in 2009, at the Jeu de Paume (Paris) as well as at Virreina Centre for the Image (Barcelona) in 2010. He is represented by the Air de Paris gallery in Paris, Baronian-Francey in Brussels and Francesca Pia in Zurich.

Bruno Serralongue presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2012: Bruno Serralongue at the Atelier des Forges; in 2006 with Philippe Durand: Contrepoint 2 at the Galerie Arena, and in 2005 taking part in the collective exhibition, for the 20 years of the ENSP french school: One time or another at the Abbaye de Montmajour.



Portrait : Giasco Bertoli – Bruno Serralongue.

logo
fr en

SERRALONGUE, Bruno

P_SERRALONGUENé en 1968 à Châtellerault.

Vit et travaille à Paris.


Depuis les années 90, suite à ses études à l’ENSP et à la Villa Arson de Nice, Bruno Serralongue construit une oeuvre photographique qui ébranle les procédures de production de l’image médiatique contemporaine. Qu’il confronte la réalité d’un événement à l’annonce qui en a été faite (Sud-Soudan, 2011), qu’il retourne sur des lieux médiatisés alors qu’ils ne sont plus sous les feux de l’actualité (Calais, 2006 – 2008)) ou encore qu’il suive un événement en en proposant un témoignage différent des médias habituels (New Fabris, 2009), Bruno Serralongue retrouve les procédures d’une certaine photographie conceptuelle qui révèle la complexité du réel plus qu’elle n’en épuise les formes.

Ses photographies sont exposées régulièrement en France et à l’étranger. Une série d’expositions rétrospectives ont été présentées au Wiels (Bruxelles) en 2009, au Jeu de Paume ainsi qu’à la Virreina Centre de la Imatge (Barcelone) en 2010. Il est représenté par les galeries Air de Paris à Paris, Baronian-Francey à Bruxelles et Francesca Pia à Zurich.


Bruno Serralongue a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2012: Bruno Serralongue à l’Atelier des Forges; en 2006 avec Philippe Durand: Contrepoint 2 à la Galerie Arena, et en 2005 dans le cadre de l’exposition collective pour les 20 ans de l’ENSP: D’un moment à l’autre à l’Abbaye de Montmajour.




Portrait : Giasco Bertoli – Bruno Serralongue.